The Steadfast Guide to Diamonds


Diamonds are graded using a colour scale (see table below) that ranges from 'D' (colourless - and the most expensive) to 'Z' (tinted yellow - and the cheapest). The first three colours 'D' 'E' and 'F' are deemed 'colourless', whilst colours 'G' 'H' and 'I' are near colourless. Colours 'G' and 'H' are a good quality white diamond, and these are the colours I use as standard.

GradeUnder 0.47cts0.47cts and over
DExceptional WhiteExceptional White (+)
EExceptional White
FRare WhiteRare White (+)
GRare White
ISlightly Tinted WhiteSlightly Tinted White
JSlightly Tinted White
KTinted WhiteTinted White
LTinted White
MTinted ColourTinted Colour
ZTinted Colour